Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

NEWBIE - General Help & Advice Wanted (& Capacitor Replacement)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alex Mac

Hi there,
my names Alex
It seems forums have helped me out a lot in other areas so I thought it was worth a go with electronics!

I'm by no means an expert though have a rough knowledge and am keen to tackle more electronic fixes myself.

I'm currently trying to change over a couple of capacitors on a BMW instrument cluster. Theres various that are prone to faults (22uF 40v / 220uF 10v / 220uF 16v) I'm unclear as to whether or not they are functioning correctly. They do not apper to have blown / exploded and unfortunately my multimeter doesn't have a capacitance test function!

It seems I cant get ahold of the exact ratings (can find higher voltage limits - does this matter?) also the size seems to have shrunk over the years, meaning the position for the prongs on the PCB is different to that of the new caps.

Anyway - I guess Im wondering where the best place to get a variey of spares is in the UK? I work with sound and lighting equipment for performances and often come accross broken equipment that I would like to be able to repair. I'm also into cars and mechanics however this is the first time I've attempted repairing soemthing more complex. (I dont even know if these caps are faulty or if its something else? Im just following an article posted by somebody else! http://bmwe32.masscom.net/
(follow Fixes>Electronics>Dash Cluster Caps)