Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Newbie advice needed for identifying and testing SMD capacitors

Status
Not open for further replies.

sky_shrimp

Hi all,

I'm very new to electronics and would like to try repairing some iPhone logic boards. By new, I mean I've only turned a multi-meter on once and made something bleep with a continuity test!

I've found a missing capacitor on a board I'm attempting to fix. The schematic for the iPhone 5c states that the capacitor is,

0.1UF 10% 6.3v CERM-X5R 0201

When I google this, I can't find anything to do with CERM-X5R, just X5R. Are they two different capacitors?

Hi all,

I'm very new to electronics and would like to try repairing some iPhone logic boards. By new, I mean I've only turned a multi-meter on once and made something bleep with a continuity test!

I've found a missing capacitor on a board I'm attempting to fix. The schematic for the iPhone 5c states that the capacitor is,

When I google this, I can't find anything to do with CERM-X5R, just X5R. Are they two different capacitors?

The cerm just means ceramic capacitor. Now for the missing cap. There are many times when a designer places a pad for a part but it is not installed at the factory for whatever reason, so that is most likely the reason it is not installed, and by you installing it, you will just make things worse.