Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to using 4013 flip flop ICs

Status
Not open for further replies.

chadj2

I had a quick question about using the 4013 flip flop IC. I am new to using flip flop ICs and have had trouble finding a good tutorial on the net about the detailed operation of this IC. If anyone knows where a decent tutorial that describes the detailed operation of this IC or shows various circuits that can be built with such an IC please provide the link if you can. All I am trying to do with the 4013 right now is to use it to simply invert my input signal. For example, when the signal input goes high I would like a low output from the 4013. From what I was able to read so far I am supposed to tie the set and reset inputs to ground, but I am not sure what to do with the data and clock inputs. Thanks for the help in advance and sorry for the noob question. Here is the datasheet link **broken link removed** .

Chad

If all you want is inversion, you should use a 7404 TTL logic chip.

The 7404 is a chip contains 6 NOT gates, NOT gates simply invert an input. So if the input was 1 the output is 0. Or vise versa.
Here is a digram of the chip.

There is a really cool logic simulator here if you need one.
http://math.hws.edu/TMCM/java/xLogicCircuits/index.html

If you just want to use the flip-flop, here's a site that has circuits, and explains the chip.

**broken link removed**

Attachments

• 7404(Not).gif
    7404(Not).gif
    4 KB · Views: 947
Last edited: