Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to this - looking for a motor that rotates 180 degrees

Status
Not open for further replies.

kanoute696

Hi All, I'm new to this so apologies.
Im looking for a motor that rotates 180 degrees - I am looking to build a simple automatic light timber gate and would like to make the controls myself.

Would anybody be able to give me some advice?.

Thank you

There's no apology for being newbie, so don't worry.
Except servo motor, all other motors will rotate 180 degrees happily. You could use a simple dc motor, they are the easiest to control/manipulate. I could be specific a bit if you explain your "automatic light timber gate" a little.

You can either use a servo motor or stepper motor.

You can also use the steering servo from a remote control (toy) car.

If your electronics knowledge is low then you'll have trouble controlling any of the above.

You can buy gate openers, I would suggest you do so - electric ones are fairly cheap, and do exactly what you want - why try and reinvent the wheel?.

If you really wanted to you could build the electronics to control it, but it hardly seems worth the effort it would take, which would include micro-controller programming.

to get a really decent one would be €700 - 1000
I thought I would learn and save at the same time. How big of a project is it?.

to get a really decent one would be €700 - 1000

Not as much as that - have a look here:

First site I looked at from google!.