Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to Pic....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rescue1

Hello everybody.I am just starting to learn about the PIC microcontroller in my spare time.I bought the book "PIC:your personal introductory course" and have found it very interesting.I have not completed reading it yet,but have tried my hands at compiling some code written in notepad. My first question is what is the best way to write code? I see some people using an old BASIC format among others and was wondering what is easier and possibly the pros and cons of each.Next, is there a website that has schematics to build your own programmers,or do I have to buy one.I will be starting out programing the 16c54 -55 and then move on to more advanced PIC's.Lastly,what is the best program to compile my code?The book metions WINASM as a program to use,but was wondering what is the easiest to start off with.Thank you for all the help, and sorry for the dumb questions but this site is my only way to ask questions as I am self-teaching all this to myself and not taking a college class as I have done with other electronics subjects in the past.PLEASE HELP....... :oops:

Rescue1 said: