Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to electronics with a project idea

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bluedreamer

Hi All, first post.

I have an idea for a hobby type project that I wish to build, but since I have little knowledge of electronics, I am lost on how to start - what I need etc.

The project idea is simple. I want to build a portable handheld device that shows direction and distance of a small transmitter.

The idea comes from me an my gf getting sick of trying to find each other in those big super stores when we go.

So each would have a little "tracking bug" type item and a little receiver with an lcd screen that points at the other tracking bug and gives distance. Maybe also the tracker could be built into the display unit.

I would guess the maximum distance it would need to work would be about 600-700ft (200-250m). ie The furtherest you could be away from each other in one of those huge Wal-mart/Target type places.

I have seen lots of FM transmitters and receivers but don’t know if these would work or even be able to transmit / receive at that distance.

1. So is this a reasonable possibility for me to build something like this?
2. How much would it cost?
3. Is there a better way to do this?
4. Is it legal to transmit radio like this in the USA

Thanks for your time

Adrian