Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

new to electronics.. a little help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arynock

Okay so I am rather new to electronics and i'm trying to get the whole grasp on transistors.. I have a couple projects I have been wanting to that would require some switches and I figured transistors would be my easier best, such as using a small source to switch on a larger source..

The only problem I have is that I am using a NPN transistor.. I get the logic behind a transistor... a small current gain at the base will make a larger current gain through the E-C... The only problem I am having is that i will apply a load through the E-C.. And my voltmeter is showing current flowing through the E-C without any connection or current at the Base... Is this right?!?

I attached a picture of an example i found online and tried to create. The only problem is that I will apply power and push the switch, but neither of the lights will light. I have checked my circuit 10x and have found nother wrong or anything backwards... Its hard to learn about these when half the example schematics i try dont work :(

Attachments

• transistor light example.gif
    transistor light example.gif
    6 KB · Views: 194
Arynock said: