Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New to computer control

Status
Not open for further replies.

radioimp

Hi.
I'm new to computer control of circuits, having studied basic electronics in college.
Am currently involved in a program to build a computer controlled light switch, looking to expand it to give a computer controlled house.
I know there is commercially availiable stuff out there, but I'm going for the DIY route as a way to enhance my knowledge.

Basically, I'm looking for a way to control (switch on/off) a lot of things from a computer.
However, I don't really know anything about how to do this. I can program, mainly in C#.NET and Java, but not adverse to learning C or Basic to program a microprocessor/controller, although i'd prefer not to use assembly if at all possible :)
Any advice on how to go about this, or some basic tutorials, including which port to use (Serial, Parrellel etc) would be of great help.

Thanks for any assistance that this board can offer!
--
Tom Wardill

On off control of a light will be fairly simple. Communicating between your computer and the light controller will probably be the most difficult part.

X-10 is a protocol that sends signals through the wiring in your house. This is ideal for controlling things that controling mains powered devices. I don't know anything about X-10 though.