Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New idea? Module on top of PC Keyboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

RobFL

This is my first time posting about anything like this, or having an interest in this. Please bear with me.
The Problem: I have tons of tedious keystroke tasks that I do on a computer.

The Equivalant of: I use macros for tedious tasks within windows Macro Magic, Autoit, etc.
Within DOS you would use a batch file to execute a bunch of instructions or commands.

I want to run a macro from outside of the box.
I would like to build a module that fits on top of a standard 110 key keyboard. And the robotics to accompany this, Program this module with different programs to run an assortment of instructions.

Questions:
Does this allready exist?
What materials could you recommend for the module sitting on top of the keyboard? springs? rubber? metal?
I guess my #1 concern is - Since I dont know why I cant find this, what at all or how much of this concept has already been created. No need in reinventing the wheel.

I am sort of impatient (in a good way)- it drives me to create. When I dont see the invention I want, I make it.

Thanks,
Rob

Jax FL

I think there are gaming keyboards with a feature like this. What would it allow the the methods you mentioned would not?

to contribute to answering your question, i would just put in in a plastic enclosure. If you want it secured to the top, use screws or a glue meant for plastic.

Last edited: