Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

New guy with an question

Status
Not open for further replies.

beninarkansas

I have an XM portable radio (MyFi) I can listen to live programs when at home or in the truck, however the internal FM transmitter is only good to about 30 feet. I'd like to extend this range to about 400' so I can listen on an FM radio at work (I work in a factory and am not able to set up the satellite antenna) I would like to be able to leave the unit hooked up in my truck and tune an FM radio from inside work to get the audio. The area where I park is greater the the 400' in diameter so I would not interfere with licensed FM stations. First question is where do I start? Has anyone built a transmitter like this? Thanks

like hero said, search the forum, there has been tons of fm transmitter threads!!!. Just search google for "rf amplifier"

Thanks for the links, but when I say I'm a new guy, I really mean it. I can and have looked all over the net for transmitters but to be honest I have no idea what to look for when it comes to schematics or what I would need to make my project.

Most FM transmitter circuits on the web are very poor quality and have a short range.
They are mono, not stereo.
Their FM frequency drifts all over the place.
They have severe distortion and are very muffled sounding, worse than an AM radio.

There are some high quality FM stereo transmitter kits available for radio pirates on ships. They might work for you.