Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need some pointers for project using 4013

Status
Not open for further replies.

kg/cm^2

Hello all, this is my first post here. I've been into electronics for a couple years, but I'm just a hobbyist and always trying to learn.

I've attached a schematic I've drawn up for what I'm trying to do. I apologize for how messy it is, I'm not familiar with any formal rules for generating schematics. Any pointers there would be fantastic.

Anyway, it's an ignition splittler to convert a single ignition line output from the engine ECU into dual signals to run a wasted spark setup using a pair of coilpacks.

Inputs are:

Power- 12V automotive

IGT-ECU- this is the ECU's trigger line. it is pulled to +12V via a 1k resistor. the ECU pulls this line to ground to begin charging the coil, and releases ground to interrupt the current to fire the coil and produce spark. this is used as the clock signal to the 4013, as well as the ground reference to the output transistors. the 1N4004 is there to prevent the 12V on the source of the output Q from damaging the transistor when G is low. i'm not sure if this is necessary or not?

CYP- this is the cylinder position sensor. it is a VR sensor in the distributor that produces a negative voltage first, then crosses zero and goes positive. this is fed to the 339 to produce a 0-VDD pulse whenever the engine is between cylinders 3 and 4, in order to sync the circuit to the firing order of the engine.