Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need some help with programmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

wmmullaney

Sorry to keep on asking silly Q's, Im really new to this and know hardly anything. Today I got my PIC16f628a in the mail, and I wanted to start programming, but I was confused by (on the programmer) which direction the PIC's notch go?(toward the ICSP plug or the other way)

Does this programmer(JDM) use HVP or LVP?

Does it need 12v to operate correctly?
:confused:
:confused:

indicate the make and model or a schematic of the Programmer-- JDM)-- no point in just telling JDM-- indicate 18 pin zif or 40 pin zif- and if 40 pin how is it wired?
If you try to use LVP facility, perhaps you loose one pin for real use and your programm should not use that pin.
the pin counting is very standard and instead of asking a querry which you feel is silly, perhaps you may see the datasheet for PIC16F628A and everything becomes clear as you start studying that

however google for JDM or JDM B for the schematics.

Last edited:
wmmullaney said:
Does this programmer(JDM) use HVP or LVP?

Most definitely HVP. I have yet to see one using only LVP.

wmmullaney said:
Does it need 12v to operate correctly?

Oh, definitely yes.