Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need MAX232 Fast!

Status
Not open for further replies.

theyikes

Hey folks!
total newbie here, I'm working on a little project and i really need to lay my hands on a max232 chip. i cant make it to the nearest town for at least 2 more weeks. I have 2 options

A: i have a max232cpe chip, any big dif?

B: anyone know of anything around the house that might contain a max232? I'm willing to sacrifice tv's dvd players, fridges, cookers etc. etc!

Anyone have time to help me out on this?

Thanks is advance

The Yikes

theyikes said:
Hey folks!
total newbie here, I'm working on a little project and i really need to lay my hands on a max232 chip. i cant make it to the nearest town for at least 2 more weeks. I have 2 options

A: i have a max232cpe chip, any big dif?

B: anyone know of anything around the house that might contain a max232? I'm willing to sacrifice tv's dvd players, fridges, cookers etc. etc!

Anyone have time to help me out on this?

Thanks is advance

The Yikes

Where are you?

theyikes said:
i have a max232cpe chip, any big dif?
The suffix 'CPE' specifies the temperature range, the package and I don't remember whatever else. If you're going to use the chip for general purpose, then it's ok.

Check the datasheet for values of external capacitors you need.

Last edited:
Housebound!

Well I'm actually housebound at the moment, New medication makes it really difficult to go out in direct sunlight :( not that we're getting much of that here.