Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with timer project!

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveCPerrino

I'm relatively new to electronics, I've been studying them in my free time for about a year, and I just recently attempted one of my first builds. The schematic, stripboard layout, and parts list are available here:

Adjustable 1-10 Minute Timer Project

I did everything I was supposed to (I think), and the green LED isn't turning on (it doesn't work at all).

Can anyone look at these pictures I took of my circuit and maybe help me see what I did wrong?

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

**broken link removed**

Your pictures are too fuzzy to see a miswire. Does the red led/buzzer come on after the delay?

Have you tried reversing the green LED?

Timer

Interesting.. Bad circuit.:mad:
Remove 33k and .1 ufd.
Move pin 7 to junction of 1 meg and 100k
Tie pin 2 to pin 6 and to junction of 100k and 220 ufd.

Attachments

• Timer.PNG
    Timer.PNG
    52.8 KB · Views: 214
Ron, he is not trying to build a free-running oscillator, he wants only one cycle. The RC network on the TRIG pin is there to trigger the 555 ONCE as power is applied.

Yeah, I'm sorry, I was worried about the picture quality haha

The red led/buzzer don't come on after the delay, and reversing the green led didn't do anything either.

All the components are in their proper places and I'm pretty sure I wired everything according to the schematic.