Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with photocell wiring

Status
Not open for further replies.

dwilkin3

Hello all,

I am an engineering student working on a project for a class. The basis of the project is an optical sorter which seperates white ping pong balls from black ones. I have a photocell which needs to trigger a small 6V dc motor that moves a flipper. I can't figure out how to use the photocell to trigger the motor. The minimal resistance of the PC in bright light is 2.5K Ohms and the max is somewhere around 50K Ohms. My project needs to be very basic and not use any kind of a programmer, just simple circuitry and parts. I thought maybe i could use the photocell to excite a relay that switches the motor, but i don't know if this is foolish. Any help would be a great help. Thanks.

Hello all,

I am an engineering student working on a project for a class. The basis of the project is an optical sorter which seperates white ping pong balls from black ones. I have a photocell which needs to trigger a small 6V dc motor that moves a flipper. I can't figure out how to use the photocell to trigger the motor. The minimal resistance of the PC in bright light is 2.5K Ohms and the max is somewhere around 50K Ohms. My project needs to be very basic and not use any kind of a programmer, just simple circuitry and parts. I thought maybe i could use the photocell to excite a relay that switches the motor, but i don't know if this is foolish. Any help would be a great help. Thanks.