Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need help with my game show buzzer.

Status
Not open for further replies.

conconn

everybody. can you help me with this? i have to know the reason why whenever i push the button on one of the bistable units the other NE555's won't trigger. also, how does pushing the button trigger my 555? i tried to use my "analytic skills" but i'm new to this and only got very few experience. your answers would be of great help. thanks!

**broken link removed**

Last edited:
That is by design. Note at each 555 output there is a resistor in series with a LED to indicate that 555 was triggered. Also note the position of the 1N4148 diodes. What happens to the trigger line when any of the 555 outputs goes high and illuminates its LED? After one 555 has been triggers the ability to trigger another is "locked out" till a reset happens. Again, pay attention to the action of the 4148 diodes and what they do.

Ron

what does happen if the output goes high? all i get is that it reverses the other 1N4148's but i can't quite get why it doesn't illuminate my LED. another thing, how does pushing the button trigger my 555?

and what is the importance of the resistor before the LED?

To keep the magic smoke in.

Look up the average operating voltage and current of a led, then figure out how it can be operated of a much higher supply voltage.

To keep the magic smoke in.