Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with DIL and LEDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

BeechSim

This will be fairly simple to many of you here, but new to me.

I'm building a flight simulator.

I have an interface card with built in current limiting resistor That will power one LED at 5vdc max 20ma

I want to connect three LEDs to the output each is 5vdc 30ma.

I know that I need a relay. I think a DIL or similar.

I don't know what type because I have no experience of these. I did think of putting resistors in to limit the current but then surely I will have very dim LEDs.

Ideas? suggestions ?

Dean **broken link removed**

Dean

you don't need a relay - you need a transistor

5 volts is pretty high for such a small amperage - double check your specs on that LED... perhaps you're using pre-wired LEDs which have built in resistors?

if your power source is limited to 5 volts, you will wire your LEDs in parallel to the transistor.

if have more power available somewhere (say 12v) [again, check the specs on yer LEDs], you can wire the LEDs in series to the transistor.

check out this site for how to wire a led to a transistor
https://www.iguanalabs.com/1stled.htm

your single output card would then turn the transistor on and off, much like a relay.

Hi,

And thanks for the reply. I may be mistaken then in what I have bought.

Order Code UK21X: High Efficiency Red
Kingbright description: L-793ID
Forward current max.: 30mA
Forward voltage max.: 2.5V