Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with DC motor selection

Status
Not open for further replies.

tombstone

I am a newbie to these forums, and was hoping you folks could help me with a question I have. How do you determine the torque required to move an object of a certain weight?

I am trying to build a simple DC motor powered sliding drawer which will hold a typical sized computer tower. I guess-timate the total weight to be about 5 kilograms max. The drawer will be on wheeled tracks to minimize friction.

Is there a formula or something that I can use to figure out the grams/cm minimum torque rating for the DC motor I would need to accomplish this project?

Thanks in advance!

While you might apply some theoretical approaches you will have to make an awful lot of estimates or assumptions. If this is a one time effort I'd advocate an approach that might be overkill - as long as overkill didn't generate an unworkable solution.

You probably won't know much about the friction. You probably can't be sure that the rails won't sag creating a low spot. Are the rails level and can they be maintained that way - you probably don't know or can't control that precisely. A good design will have to anticipate this - and will result in a larger motor.