Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need help with building a wind turbine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Salaki

Hi i'm a 6 grader and i need help with my science-fair project. I wanted to build a wind turbine but my school didnt have enough money to get me 120m of lead wire for me so if you have any tips for me how i could build one and please give me a fully guide i know it takes time to make a real guide but please i really need help and i'm not a professional and this is my first time so if you make a guide you should make it so even a 8 years old kid would understand. Please help me =) :) thanks

could be both vertical wind turbine or horizontal and please also tell me what tools and materials i need and if you say something like plywood or some lead or wire please tell me the size in cm or mm or dm not with inches because im swedish and we dont use inch or foot here

what do you need 120m of lead wire for????

Funny, My Dad and I built one of these for my science fair project almost 15 years ago...

What we did was get an old alternator from a car, and built the entire structure from steel. It was shaped with three fan blades. And the main shaft was connected to the alternator with a rubber puller belt. When the wind hit the blades, it turned the shaft which turned the wheel on the shaft and then the alternator. The alternator was connected directly to the battery, and we connected a 12volt light to the battery with a switch.

Heres a basic diagram...