Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

NEED HELP WITH AM RECEIVER(s)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bazmatu

Hi -

I'm new here. I am experienced in analog and digital electronics but have never worked with RF to any appreciable degree.

I started playing around with a simple AM detector (crystal) set and find out that I LOVE THIS SUBJECT.

I am having problems, though. I am starting very simple, with AM, to get a "feel" for it, and using normal lab equipment and components. But I am finding RF inductors are "build your own" and variable capacitors that I have never seen, and ganged capacitors, and in many articles there is an implicit assumption that you "just know" stuff as the lingo, matched impedances, etc.

An example might help. I am attempting an extremely crude superhet AM receiver. I have some dual-gate MOSFETs (NTE222). N-channel depletion/enhancement mode. I made two stages, nearly identical.

The first stage I simply used a "wire" coupled through a 100nF cap to Gate 1 with 100k to ground for an antenna. (I also use a function generator to verify amplification.) On Gate 2 I use a function generator for an LO that is also similarly AC-coupled. The source is grounded. On the drain I have a tank with a resonant frequency of around 500kHz (closest I could get to 455).