Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help with a Solar Security Camera set up

Status
Not open for further replies.

ashton86

I am a real amateur when it comes to all things electronics and I was wondering if you could help me.

I have purchased land out in the middle of no where and have no power. Unfortunately I have had a fair share of red necks helping them selves to things on my property, or just simply snooping around when I'm not there.

Due to this, I have recently purchased a digital camera that runs off a 9volt battery. It takes a photo when motion is detected with the inbuilt motion sensor, and saves the image on to an SD card. Works an absolute treat for my intentions. However, the 9volt battery only has a life span of about 7 hours.

You might have a good laugh at this, but in my ignorance and attempt to have this set up on a continuous feed (i need it to run for 1 month inbetween visits). My attempt was in vain, you see what i set up was wires running from the camera to a rechargeable 9volt battery, from this battery i ran wires to a 12volt car battery and from the car battery i ran a 5watt solar panel that trickle feed the car battery.

I returned only to find the 9volt battery absolutely fried and the camera not working. At first thoughts i presumed i had fried the camera as well, however, after testing, it worked fine.