Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need help with a bot project

Status
Not open for further replies.

sal

i am trying to build a small robot like a bot of the bomb squad. but only the wheels that are like the wheels of the tanks. but i am new to this VERY BIG bot world :) and i don't know where to start. can anyone help find the correct direction?? lol :D

Be forewarned- any tracked robot that can be measured in feet means you either have to build it yourself (include the belt and all the little pulleys) which is very mechanically difficult, or you pay a ton of money to get them made, or you pay a ton of money to buy a robot with them on. THe cheapest I have seen for a tracked robot in the size measured in feet.

On the other hand, if you build a robot smaller than a foot (more realistically smaller than half a foot- what I would say desktop size, then there are lots of tracks to choose from! Plus the servos at that size are more suitable for a robot arm anyways and it's easier and cheaper to find suitable drive motors to run the whole thing.

Big and expensive:
http://www.robotcombat.com/marketplace_machinelab.html
http://www.robotcombat.com/marketplace_machinelab.html

SMall and cheap:
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**

I lied a bit- these are the *only* affordble larger-than-desktop sized tracks that I have found:
**broken link removed**

Then there are "desktop" kits:
**broken link removed**
**broken link removed**