Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help - Using 8051 with RS232

Status
Not open for further replies.

maxfourier

I'm an electronics student working on my first project. I have explained my problem below. Need some help.

Please consider that I'm a newbie with projects.. I have only brought a few things and downloaded some software. Apart from that I have my logic ready. So, all i would need to do is write the code and program the microcontroller.

This is what i have :

Hardware :

8051 (NXP 80V51RD2)
RS232 with DB9
max232

Software :

Keil
Flash Magic

What i want to do : is just program the microprocessor. I have tried Googling "Interfacing 8051 rs232" but could not really get it.

I can interface the microprocessor and the max232 but I'm having problems interfacing the RS232.

Moreover, I have NO idea how (& where) to connect the RS232. Here is what my cable looks like :

**broken link removed**

Again, What i need to know is:

-Which side of the cable goes where(PC n 8051)
-How is it connected to the microprocessor.
-How do I write my c code into the microprocessor - How to convert it to hex(or whatever required)? Why do I need Keil & Flash Magic?

Last edited by a moderator:
Try here: **broken link removed**

you will need to register as a member before you can view some restricted content. Hope this helps