Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need help to build a dual axis solar tracker.

Status
Not open for further replies.

nilanjana

I am a final year student of electrical engineering,and am currently
engaged with the development of a microcontroller controlled dual axis
parabolic solar tracker for the final year project. But I cannot
understand how to proceed, what to use and mainly how to assemble the
required components to build one.

I shall be grateful if you would help me out by providing me with
basic know how of how to build a tracker.

Last edited:
Mods: Perhaps this could be moved to the Renewable Energy forum?

I have built a single axis version of the same thing, never used it just built it.
Its a pic16f88 microcontroller with 2 norp12 light sensistive resistors and a rc servo.
The micro positions the servo by adjusting a pwm o/p so that the light falling on the 2 cells produces an equal voltage within a bandgap.
Theres a couple of niceties, when the overall light level fails, the unit positions the solar panel facing east ready for sun up and goes into sleep, waking up every few secs to check the light level.
Shouldnt be that hard to increase to 2 axis.

I was going to build a r/c compatible servo from a car wiper motor, but never did for reasons below.

The problem with this method is clouds, the panel constantly positions itself in cloudy weather wasting precious power, I think systems that use gps and calculated solar position are superior.

Last edited: