Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help selecting relay (or an alternative)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ravix

Hey guys, I am pretty new to this, but I am taking electrical circuits this year so you'll probably get to know me pretty well.

I am trying to build a trigger cable to sync my digital camera and some flash slaves I own. I've used a multimeter to take some readings, and I think I need a relay to get this to function, but the behavior is a little strange and I don't know what to get.

Don't worry, I have a diagram ;)

**broken link removed**

Basically, I have four wires, which I'll call C, D, A, and B. The voltage difference between C and D is normally 3v, with a current of .3amps running through the wires. When the flash slave triggers, the voltage drops to .55v and the current stays the same. At this moment, I need to rapidly short out wires A and B.

It seems like I need a normally closed relay that opens up at around 2.5v, and closes again at around 1.5v to be safe. Does this sound right? If so, where can I find something like this in the United States?

Also, what kind of response time can I expect from such a relay. ie: Milliseconds, Microseconds, 2 seconds (hopefully not :D ).

Thanks guys, I appreciate the help.

btw: The slaves are pocket wizards and the camera is a 20d if any of you have any better ideas.

-Eric

ravix said: