Need Help On My Feet w/ A Little Home Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

sepulchral

Hello,

I'm a mechanical engineer of 5 years and have recently come up with an idea for a device that I want to put to test. I've modelled all components in 3d cad, and have fabrication figured out... I just need assistance with electrical. In school I took Circuits I and II, and there is a bit I remember, but its embarrasing how much I forgot - which has brought my confidence level down. I have done alot of home wiring jobs and engine harness wiring jobs on cars - but never circuit design.

What i'm trying to do is to create a 120VAC device that operates a small microwave turn-table motor [rigged to a pulley system] for a duration of time (say three minutes) per three [user-inputted] set times (say 2:00AM, 8:00AM, 10:00PM). If it is much simpler to have a timer on an 8-hr delay that would be fine too.

I wish to make this an in-door "appliance" which is safe, basic, and reliable.

Please help guide me in the right direction in terms of component selection (where to buy) and any hints to a basic circuit would help too - or a tutorial on how to sketch something so simple.

Thanks

How accurate does the 8 hour period need to be. Can it drift a bit or do you need it to be clock accurate ?

How accurate does the 8 hour period need to be. Can it drift a bit or do you need it to be clock accurate ?

Thank you for the response - accuracy is not important. Even a drift of 10 to 30 minutes will not matter.

The cheaper I can build this thing, the better.

EDIT:

If the timer can change to operate every 4 hours (6 times per day, that would be preferred too.)

Also, there is an addition I failed to mention to this circuit: