Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help on dropping voltage from 12vdc. to 4.5vdc?

Status
Not open for further replies.

lt_1956

Hello,

I have a mini alarm that has a 12 vdc speaker alarm, what I want to do is add a light which is only 4.5vdc. The funny thing is the unit uses only 3 AA batteries, but the siren triggered uses 12vdc. So it would burn up the light.

I am new to the concept of electronics etc. I seen voltage regulators but they only go down to 5vdc, I thought of trimmers, but can you use them for dropping voltage? and I have no idea how to use the resistors or what type, there are so many types!

Pelase help. I just need a cheap, simple way to nock down 12vdc to 4.5vdc.

Thanks.

simplest way...use trimmer/variable resistor.....concept of votage devider....you can adjust the trimmer untill the output voltage is 4.5....

if the supply current is high...is better if you put the voltage ragulator...as protection....then put the trimmer as picture below

but if the current is not in concern....can simply put the trimmer only

Attachments

• 4.5v.jpg
    4.5v.jpg
    8.5 KB · Views: 1,118
A resistor in series with the 12 volt supply would work. The value is determined by the current drawn by the light. You'd need to look up the design value for the bulb or measure the current the do some Ohm's Law work (we'll help you) to find the correct value of the resistor.