Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help building backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

engtech

Hey guys. Newbie here. Just need some help building a backup. I've got a item that powers out with two AA batteries, i've got a solar panel that powers out 6v max.

question is. How can i make it so when i've got the solar panel running and i want the battery power to shut off and when the solar panel isnt supplying enough power, id want the battery power to turn on.

THANKS.

The easy way to do this is by using two diodes. But then you'll loss a big part of the total power consumed.

Another easy (but not THAT easy) is to activate a relay each time the solar panel provide a certain voltage out. The backdraw here is that a relay consume much power compared to an average device powered by two AA batteries, and it's even not sure that the solar panel is capable to provide enough current for that.

Another way to do this is to use just one diode from the solar panel and just let the batteries stay connected all the time. But by doing this you must make sure that the batteries won't overcharges the batteries.

First. Thanks grossel for the info, this'll surely help me out.
second. Sorry for posting in the wrong section as to i'm a newbie.