Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help Building A Sound Device

Status
Not open for further replies.

Johnny Diaz

Hi all newbie here. Been lurking around here for a while and I must say alot of knowledgeable people here. All this reading has inspired me to start my first project. I'm looking to build a little sound device. Basically I have music in mp3 format. I would to make a device which at the touch of a button will play the mp3 file. I was told by someone that in order to burn mp3 files to an eprom chip the data must be in binary or hex format. Is this true? If so, what program do I use to convert mp3 or wav files to binary or hex format so I can burn to a chip? Any diagrams available for this?

If you want to use the MP3 format you need a MP3 player which is quite complex. You can buy a little card from futurlec that will play the music. All you need to do is interface to it.

If you do not need MP3 quality you can use one of several voice recording chips on the market.

All the sound effects I have are already in mp3 or wav format and are really good quality. I'm not sure how to go about accomplishing my goal which is to have a device where I push a button and the sound files play.

The card from futurlec looks really good. How would I store my sound effect to this device? Does it come with software?

I guess the other possiblity is to burn these files to a chip. How can I accomplish this if my source files are currently mp3 or wav files and need to be burned to a chip?