Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need Help Building A RC Lawn Mower Using Basic Stamp

Status
Not open for further replies.

rs14smith

Hi,

Currently I have a parallax developer board (Boe Bot Kit), and I was trying to learn about micro a little and then try to build a RC lawn mower using the board if it is possible at all.

My RC lawn mower will have 2x 24VDC motors, so I need to build some type of circuit that can handle that much voltage as well.

I'm also new to remote controls using Radio Frequencies to control something, so I'm just looking for advice and support on how to implement this design.

My two motors will be at the back of the lawn mower, and both can either be going forward, backward, or I can live one at a stand by state while the other one moves to make the mower turn right/left.

A Vex RC transmitter kit worked for me, it has the sticks for tank drive, or single stick control. Wouldn't pay more than $30 including shipping for **broken link removed**, although they seem more scarce than a couple of years ago. The receiver has the raw rf pulse train available for breakout, and ready for decoding by your Basic Stamp. Plenty of info on the net for these.

You could do it without the Basic Stamp if you wanted too, by using a compatible receiver module (Futaba?) and appropriate ESC's that would handle the 24V motor voltage, and amperage requirements.