Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need help ASAP:)

Status
Not open for further replies.

msj965

Hello,
I'm a newbie here and I wanna ask a question on capacitor ,resistor value to put.first of all my amps cd input impedance specs is 44k ohms. and I have a diy cd player. the problem is the output circuitry of audio....what DC BLOCKER value do I put and Ground resistor value (this is the one connected to rca plug l&R to ground).
Thanks and more power,

Last edited:
Like 10µf and 680Ω. The values aren't real critical, so long as you don't go TOO low.

I've always found larger is better.

Don't use ceramic capacitors, film is best, electrolytic is all right as long as it's oversized by a factor of four or more.

Use the following formula to calculate the minimum capacitor size.

[latex]C = \frac{1}{2 \pi R F_C}\\
R =\text{Input impedance}\\
F_C = \text{Cutoff frequency, typically 20Hz for audio.} [/latex]

If you can't find a capacitor with the value calculated, use the next value up.

Use >220nF for an input impedance of 44k.

Rearrange the formula posted above.

Plug the numbers in.

Calculate it and see for yourself.

I hate it when people reduce 20Hz to half-power.
4Hz should be reduced to half power so that 20Hz can rattle everything at almost full power.

I think you'll hardly notice it as even most good speakers cut-off at 40Hz and average speakers only make it to 80Hz. The acoustics in a poorly designed room will also limit the bass response.