Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

need assistance

Status
Not open for further replies.

rattler

hi ,
this is jahanzeb here,
i am doing a project on controlling electrical appliances and circuits through
computer by using serial port. i am an IT student and does not have much
knowledge about electronics.Can anyone guide me in this regard as what
devices or circuits,IC's or microcontrollers would be used.Kindly let me know
thx.

Any devices currently available on the market. Your question is too vague to properly answer.

If you are not comfortable building custom electronics, then consider buying ready-made interface devices and do the software yourself. one place that has many remote controllable appliance switches is X-10.

https://www.x10.com/homepage.htm

While thier prices are reasonable, regrettably they have the worst website I have ever seen and it is difficult to find what you want. But persist, they do have them.

my question was a bit different! may be i couldnt make u guys undertstand what i need from u guys.
what i wanted to ask is that i have to make the software part alongwith the hardware one too.the hardware from scratch . designing the PCB board and then soldering it .all from the begining .so how can i do that or where do i start from. as i have told u guys i dont have much knowledge about electronics. by the thx 4 ur replies. do reply again . thx again

rattler said:
hi ,
this is jahanzeb here,