Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Need advice for choosing a PIC

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChemE

Hi I am brand new to this forum and am hoping to learn. I am very new to building circuits and PICs so bare with me. I only have circuits knowledge from physics 2 and circuits for non-EE majors.

I would like to build a circuit board that would allow me to solder 25 buttons from another device onto it and have a PIC control when these buttons are activated.

So my question is can you attach 25+ buttons to an 18 pin PIC (like the 16F88) or do you need to have a PIC with pins>25?

I attached a picture below that I made showing a VERY basic schematic of what I would like. I have 2 PS/2 ports in there because I would ideally like to connect the PIC to a keyboard/mouse to control this device.

Also could anyone give me some advice on how to design a circuit for this? I have Eagle Cad but I have no idea how to build a schematic (where do I need a resistor, capacitor, other types of processors, etc...)

I need help if I am ever going to be able to build something. Thank you.

Attachments

• Schematic.JPG
    Schematic.JPG
    26.1 KB · Views: 253
For 25 input pins I would recommend using the 16F877.. it is a 40 pin PIC with 33 input/output pins.

This way you will have extra pins for any add-ons..

Also this PIC has a considerable amount of memory.