Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Nedd help with visible light photo detector circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buzzed

Hi guys I’m a newbie residing in Ohio. I fly MikroKopters which is what brings up my question. Onboard my Hexa is a small GPS. The GPS uses a green LED that is normally on when powered up and starts to flash when 3D lock is achieved. Herein lies the problem, the LED is almost impossible to see in bright sunlight under the smoked dome of the MikroKopter and impossible to see when flying.

What I would like to do is build a simple, lightweight, compact photo-detector that can see the LED and mimic the flash pattern. Then it can be used as a switch to power up a strip of flexible LEDs that will be mounted on one of the motor support arms that can easily be seen when flying.

The target voltage is 12 – 14.8 volts dc which is the voltage of the flight pack and also the voltage for the flexible LED light strip.

Any help you guys can afford would be greatly appreciated by me and the MikroKopter community.

What is the possibility of directly accessing the electrical connection to the green GPS LED?
You might have to open the GPS case ... snip and splice ...
The idea is to achieve a direct electrical signal to activate the external LED strip.

The use of a photo sensitive optical connection could require a certain amount of experimentation ... to get a solid activation signal.