Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

my assembly lang is not working

Status
Not open for further replies.

Iawia

hey all,

I am a beginner in assembly, and I just got done making my LED turn 'on', and am now trying to get the LED to flash with a period of ~1 Hz.
here is the code that I wrote, but the led stays 'on' the whole time.

as a coder of C++, java, assembly lang seems to be illogical at times and hard to follow, and I am failing to see why the LED is not flashing. Please help. I know there is other code out there that works, however I really want to know why THIS code doesn't work. I don't want to just copy and paste, but actually understand my error.

I am using the pic kit2 from Microchip, with the PIC12F508.
Open this .ASM with MPLAB IDE (but notepad and word will also work, but wont look as pretty)
thanks!

Attachments

• Flash_LED.ASM
    3.7 KB · Views: 127
Last edited:
Hola Iawa,

Have you simulated it? I work always in Assembler but found it hard to follow.

Is it any chance that things are going SO fast that you do not see the OFF moments?

Had I that problem I would simulate it to know.

To toggle GP1

movlw 02
xorwf gpio,1

instead of
xorwf GPIO, f ;flip bit position at GP1
movwf GPIO ;place new output onto the pins

you don't have to:
clrf delay1 ;setting regs to 0 so we can start at 255 when using decfsz
clrf delay2

as they become zero after the first use.

you don't have to:
movlw b'000010'
movwf GPIO ;initialize GP1 to 'on'