Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

My 1st project - To cycle through 7 LEDs with push button

Status
Not open for further replies.

B Foulk

I'm new to the world of electronics and circuitry, but I am familiar enough to learn with help. Thank you in advance for any assistance.

the end result - use an on/off switch for constant power to the LED; then with the push on a momentary button, cycle through seven LEDs. When the unit is powered off and then powered back on, the unit will need to light the same LED that was on prior to switching off the unit.

the reason - I have an emergency strobe light system installed in my truck (its a cheapo from amazon), but works well. It has 7 flash patterns, and utilizes an on/off switch combined with a momentary button that cycles through the patterns. Alas, I have no way of knowing which pattern is selected or how to get to a particular pattern.

I would prefer to not open the main control module and tap into it's circuitry

Hi B Foulk, welcome to ETO!

When I hear "cycle through 7 outputs at the push of a button" I automatically think of the 4017 decade counter, with Output 8 connected to the reset pin. However, off the top of my head I can't remember if the outputs latch or not. Might be worth looking into, anyway. Here's a quick demo I made for someone a while back showing how a pushbutton is wired to the 4017 to cycle through the outputs: