Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

mutimeter problem reading LEDs

Status
Not open for further replies.

scoutuk

**broken link removed**

I have the above multimeter and when i try to use the diode setting to read an LED i get no reading stays on 0L, Im no expert on this stuff but was following instructions from a robotic book, i tried a few LEDs to make sure and also connected them to a battery and they all lit up, any ideas were im going wrong please, According the the book i should be getting a voltage drop of about 1.6 V thanks for any help.

Perhaps the multimeter doesn't measure that high a diode voltage. Try measuring two or three normal diodes in series and see what that indicates.

Not really a problem with your multimeter. Nowhere on the spec page you reference does it specify how your multi-meter "tests" a diode.

In the diode measure mode, my Fluke meters apply a constant current of about 1mA, and then display the resulting forward voltage (in volts). But what happens when the forward drop (at ~1mA) of the diode under test exceeds the compliance of the current source? What is the compliance of the current source? I measured the open circuit voltage across the probes with another meter; my Fluke 75 only puts out about 2.5V, while the Fluke 87 puts out about 3V. Some LEDs have forward drops this high, so my conclusion is that these meters are not capable of measuring the forward drop using the built-in constant-current source.