Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MPPT for wind turbine

Status
Not open for further replies.

Burnit0017

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TE38SOdf64&feature=player_embedded

Hi, I was so inspired by the video’s results, I decide to try a build a simple MPPT for a wind turbine. I have limited knowledge of subject and will appreciate any help received.

I found a article in Power Electronics Technology_ June 2006 “Buck-Converter Design Demystified” https://www.electro-tech-online.com...0Converter20Design20Demystified20606PET25.pdf

The article provides methods for selecting component values for a basic step down converter circuit and I plan on using it as a guide to develop the MPPT. Comments welcome.

Attachments

• side.jpg
    side.jpg
    120 KB · Views: 193
I guess the first questions would be what are your current and voltage and RPM targets? Alternator specs.? The thing that struck me as odd about the video was that the alternator had 23 ohms resistance. I guest they got there looking for 1 volt per RPM, but the high resistance means power in the alternator not the batteries or whatever. I don't know anything about it but I would think you might get a better match to start with between the load and the alternator.

MPPT for VAWT, concept drawing

Hi, I have a working system. I fabricated the PMA and VAWT. I have it configured using a bridge rectifier to the battery bank and a dump load controller monitors the batteries to protect from over charging.