Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motorcycle turn signal help

Status
Not open for further replies.

erburtt

Hi, I am relatively new to the circuit building world, my education is in civil engineering so not really the same thing... I am trying to figure out a way to wire up lights on my motorcycle.

To sum it up... I am converting my traditional incandescent lights to LED, my hope is to have two sets of LED's for each side of the bike, I want one LED to be on all all times as a running light but then flash when the turn signal is activated, and the other LED to come on only as a turn signal.

Because the LED's only have a (+) and (-) the only way I know how to make it work as both a running light and flasher is with a MOSFET, Basically I connect the running light power to the source, the turn signal power wire off of the flasher relay to the gate, and the drain goes to the (+) on the LED.

This will work fine, however it will flash opposite all my other lights which are only connected to the turn signal wire. I want everything to flash at the same time when I activate my signals.

Anyone have any idea's on how to do this, Ive heard of a logic gate working for this but really don't know anything about it.

Hi, I have a micro-controller based application for this, and many cars here are running with this same thing. Its pretty simple and can be implemented with relative ease.
I can provide with the source code/ the complete assembled kit if you want.