Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motorcycle Capacitive Discharge Ignition System

Status
Not open for further replies.

Matttyga

Hi Guys,

I'm brand new to this forum, so first of all hello to all. I'm also a novice electronic hobbyist, so please go gentle on me :)

Moving swiftly on, I'm very interesting in making a DC CDI for one of my motorcycles. Specifically a 125cc single cylinder two stroke.

I've been trawling through the site for a couple of days seeing what's been done and reading various threads, and although that's been very helpful I felt the need to make a post to see if I could get a few thoughts from people far more experienced than myself.

Now, I'm not asking for the simple answer as I won't be learning anything that way, so I'll try to explain what I've done so far and where I'm at, and the problems that I'm having so far.

I found a few schematics online for DC CDI's and the one I chose for a starter is from the Sportdevices website: https://www.sportdevices.com/ignition/inverter.htm

I've built the circuit as closely as I can using the parts that I have available to me and I did actually have the circuit hooked up to an ignition coil and sparking a couple of nights ago, so I'm guessing that I'm not too far from the truth.