Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motor Torque Control Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

beh188

I am a mechanical engineer who needs some help with the electronics of controlling a motor. All design aspects of the project are open at this point, but the solution needs to be relatively simple and cost effective.

My application is that I need to turn a crank with a motor until the motor reaches a certain torque, and then the motor needs to turn off and trip a relay. The limit on torque is ~300 in.lbs. and it needs to be done with a gearmotor turning about 20-40 in.lbs. The motor will need to be capable of turning the crank in either the forward or reverse direction to the required torque. The power I will have available will be standard 110AC wall outlet voltage with about 10A AC to draw. Limiting the size and weight of the motor is important

I have been successful in finding many DC motors with the capabilities needed (Globe Motor, Bison Motor, Bodine-Electric). I have been looking for 24V DC motors because my thought is that staying at 24V would produce the smallest and lightest motor at the required torque. Also, I have been looking for a DC motor because I felt torque is most easily regulated. These 24V DC motors draw about 9A of current at the limit I would like to set.