Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Motion switch for a rotating LED car wheel light?

Status
Not open for further replies.

pretzelz

Hi everyone. I'm a complete newbie in terms of electronics, but I do know roughly how to solder. Thats about my level of experience. However I'm very excited about the following idea which I need your help on. Should be a simple solution I expect:

I love LEDS. I decided to buy 4 small solar powered LED lights and attach one to each wheel of my car. Clever I thought, for a man who wants a spiral of white light on his wheels when going along at night - but which are charged through the day by the integrated solar panel. (unlike LED valve caps)

**broken link removed**

The items in question were these:

**broken link removed**

or search: solar LED keyring They cost about £1.

Picture attached.

My question now however is - I do not want to go around turning them all on (and off again) before taking a journey. So the idea came to me, how about installing a small motion detecting switch on each circuit, which turns them on automatically when the car starts moving. (And sure, off again when the car is stopped presumably)

I live in the UK and we have a shop called maplins which I found sells some possibilities for these switches.

Please see here: **broken link removed**