Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

MOSFET power amplifiers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
I've been struggling for the last couple of hours with crossover distortion with push pull followers (with mosfets). Why does this occur? What the heck is biasing the inputs?
Anyone got a comprehensive explanation / article. I am a student, so please don't be too advanced.

Thanks
TAM

Crossover distortion occurs when there is a threshold difference between when the top transistor stops conducting and the bottom transistor starts conducting during the amplification of an AC signal. The time it takes to cross that threshold difference puts a glitch in the waveform which is crossover distortion. It can occur with both MOSFET and BJT stages.

To avoid this, a bias network at the push-pull input generates sufficient voltage with no signal that both transistors are biased slightly on (called a Class AB stage), thus there is no dead spot when reproducing an AC signal (and thus no crossover distortion).

Here's a reference that should help further.

Thank you very much.
So when the inputs are biased, the MOSFET is slightly on, when an input signal is applied, the MOSFETs are already on, and will respond. Am I understanding this correctly?

Also, I understand distortion known as 'clipping', what measure can be taken against it?

Last edited:
Hi,