Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

More elegant solution?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PMB

I'm a retired electronics engineer and keep my hand in by maintaining a small electronics workshop with a basic 'store cupboard' of components and the basic range of test equipment, power supplies, 'scopes, sig gens and so on.

I was recently asked to design and build an unusual circuit and though I've done it, and it works, I just get the feeling that there's a more elegant way to do it than my solution, so I thought I'd sign up here and pop the question.

The request was for a time delayed switch. The user wanted to be able to set a delay time between 10 seconds and one minute, press a momentary button switch and after the set delay time had elapsed, have a normally open output switch close for no more than half a second then open again, after which the circuit must return rapidly to it's quiescent state and be ready for another push button trigger within a few seconds. The unit had to be self contained, robust, easily transportable and its output switch had to be rated at 5A minimum.