Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Modulated 38khz Infrared Transmitter

Status
Not open for further replies.

kasamiko

Hi,

This is my first time to messed with mobots and planning to make an obstacle avoiding mobot..

I'll be using a TSOP type of infrared receiver salvage from cheap China made DVD players but encounter problems with it...

tsop4838-ir-receiver-module-38khz-rc.jpg

The output is HIGH if NOT detecting any infrared signal and goes LOW if infrared is detected..

I tried several circuit of modulated 38khz infrared LED driver but no one works satisfactorily unlike the remote control of my tv..:(

I found out that for this to work, I need to modulate the 38khz signal as well not just a continuous burst of 38khz signal but it most be modulated..100ms ON/10ms OFF or something like that..

Design considerations
For the proper functioning of the Photo module, it is necessary to consider some important aspects.
1. Supply voltage should be + 5 Volts. For this, a 5.1 volt Zener must be connected to the +V pin and ground.
2. A 100 uF capacitor should be connected to the +V pin as a buffer and filter capacitor. This will suppress the power supply disturbances.
3. Carrier frequency should be close to the center frequency of the band pass filter. 38 kHz in the case of TSOP 1738.
4. Burst length must be 10 cycles per burst or more.
5. Between each 10 to 70 cycles, a gap time of 14 cycles is necessary to reset the module.