Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

modified protection circuits in series?.... need help please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

morse w

Hi all, i hope someone can help.
i'm making a portable stereo from scratch to run from 3 lithium cells in series and i've aquired the balance charger and protection circuits but as i'm a novice i've become a little stuck.

my problem is the recycled protection circuits cut off at about 2.3v (too low) i was thinking of placing a schottky diode between the batteries and protection circuits on all 3 cells (0.4v drop) as this would fool the circuit to thinking the voltage was 0.4v lower than the actual battery voltage, therefor cutting out at a new higher cell voltage of about 2.7v.

the protection circuits interupt on the negative terminal and i want to use this "interupt" to switch 3 individual transistors which will in turn switch off a power transistor, basicaly the first to drop out will switch the whole lot off.

i've got a whole load of general purpose transistors, a couple of TIP31 power transistors (1a rated), and quite an extensive parts bin so any ideas or suggestions would be most appreciated.
another question.... can i use 2x TIP31 in parallel to provide more amps?