Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Modbus protocol?

Status
Not open for further replies.

amavag

Hi everybody!
I'm a 3rd year engineering student.We are doing a project in which we are using microcontroller 89c51. We have one master controller & 3 slaves.We are using RS485 for interfacing.
Our professor has told us to use modbus protocol.We went through several articles on modbus protocol on web as well as books; but we are not getting how to implement it in the project.Is there any hardware available,or only the programming is required?
Please give your guidance.Waiting for your kind reply,
amavag

In general we do not do your class work for you here. That would result in you learning less. I will help you to understand the problem. Are you allowed to use existing hardware or software ?

Read and understand the definition for Modbus at https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Modbus

If you need to build your own hardware then the project has two parts. The first is building the hardware RS485 interface. The next is providing the modbus software to run on the processor that talks over the RS485 network.

A good introductory article on RS485 networks can be found at Designing RS-485 Circuits