Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Migrating to USA

Status
Not open for further replies.

bchris

Hello dear forumists :)

I am thinking of migrating to USA, as things here in Greece are getting direr every day.

So, my question to you how already live in the states, or have migrated in the past.

What is a good salary?
Any hidden expenses?
Things to look out for?

Any tips in general?

TIA.

EDIT:
forgot to mention I work in the IT sector.

@Nigel: I guess it is..

Last edited:
Just go onto a few websites, and you'll find an advert for a green card that says "live and work in the USA - CLICK FOR MORE"
so try that, its like so easy!

Our INS (now ICE) can be very difficult to work with. There are many options to consider. Some of the options depend on what skills you have and the need for them in the US. For example, if there is a specific job opening and no American applies for it, but you have the requisite skills, getting a work permit or green card can be easier. Such jobs place a particular onus on the employer, and many will not do that for you.

The only reliable advice I can give is to consult an immigration attorney, before you come to the US, unless you are only coming as a tourist. If you are here as a tourist, you might find that attorney here. Some visa types, e.g., student visa's, can limit your future options.

As for salaries, you should expect typical American salaries, which can be found in professional publications related to your field.