Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microwave Range

Status
Not open for further replies.

gauravbijlani

I work as a Test Engineer and have been encountering a strange problem of lately.As the range of microwave is to be measured to be put into the report book,I need to test each microwaves outside and the range of the microwaves vary from 30 metres to 60 meters.

It has been broght to my notice that :

The simplest solution for you will be to create a moving target (a rotating cylinder or fan) at the opposite end of your test space and to turn this on and off remotely to simulate your target. The measurement is in terms of microvolts and it is assumed that anything above 45 microwave refers to 60 meters.

I havent been told why and in practacality,the time(morning,afternoon) of the experiments make the readings vary even on the same unit.

I check for the voltages on the gunn diode and observe the waveform on CRO.The microwave is designed to perform as a occupancy sensor and turn on/off the light accordingly.

I am not able to comprehend how the distance to voltage conversion is related to the microwave?If it is an effective way to measure the range,why are there fluctuations in the readings of the same unit ?

Is there a way which would mean less tests outside?The weather is not conducive to be outside.
Can anyone please help me with suggestions please?:confused: