Continue to Site

Welcome to our site!

Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

• Welcome to our site! Electro Tech is an online community (with over 170,000 members) who enjoy talking about and building electronic circuits, projects and gadgets. To participate you need to register. Registration is free. Click here to register now.

Microcontrollers!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haidy

Hello all
im a beginner in electrical engineering study
probably i'll b specialized in power & control engineering
im a member in ieee (by the way)
now im taking a course in atmel 8051
then im confused about studying AVR or PIC??
please tell me which is better
or at least which to start with
another request plz
which programming language to study with any of them??
for example,,, basic? assembly? C? or what???
im waiting for any replies from u
thank u all
bye

Neither would be better. Just pick the one you like the most. You can use any language with any MCU- it's the language of the compilers you have available to you that matters.

Don't study in Basic (I personally believe it's for young kids or people who don't ever plan to learn another language or study electronics in school). C is probably best. Use assembler only if you are really doing low level stuff with a specific processor (the language varies for chip to chip). Have you ever seen assembly? It's so low level (you have to explicity take care of EVERYTHING, all registers, transfers, EVERYTHING). It's hard to do anything high level with.